523 miles

so…. tired….

I think I’m getting sick. It would make sense, but it’s the WORST timing ever.

Now that I’m back in Virginia, I feel like my trip is essentially over. This is my familiar stomping grounds, the region that I know the best.

I got to KY very late, and barely made it to the house. Fittingly, I was listening to a Sookie Stackhouse book, so I felt like I was immersing myself in the whole “southern” thing.

We went to church in the morning, followed by lunch and a walk in the park. All very wonderful and home-grown, and I was once again happy to see how well we all interact, even though I didn’t know any of the younger ones until just over a year ago. Family is a kind of cool thing.

I stayed at one of my other cousin’s last night in Ashland, but I was sadly too wiped out to interact. Then I had to boogy out the door in the morning to make it to VA today.

West Virginia was sooooo gorgeous. However, the coffee is terrible. I’ve become such a coffee snob. It’s no good.

I want to go back to here: http://www.nps.gov/neri/ I was so impressed with the layout and the trails, and just the scenery. It was, in my opinion, prettier than the Olympics. The Olympics are majestic and green and all that, but the Appalacians are just understated yet lush, and just comfortable. The Olympics make you think of going forth and conquering, while the Appalacians make you want to build a house. I’m going to try to put together a week trip out there sometime in Spring or Summer.

Coming through the Blue Ridge was equally pleasant. I stopped off at a gas station that might be the absolutely ONLY gas station in the country where you can pump first AND they still have separate machines for each grade of gas. I almost didn’t know what to do. The lady was a sweetie, the gas was cheap, and the bathroom was very clean.

