Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I enjoy baking. I don’t really enjoy eating the results, but I enjoy baking. Other people get to enjoy them, and that’s fine.

Sometimes I just want to bake to challenge myself. Yesterday was 3/14, and traditionally I make a pie that day. However, I didn’t get a chance. Here is my compensation pie.

We aren’t strictly paleo, but I tend in that direction. I enjoy things made without flour, which is not gluten free and not really paleo. I grew up without processed foods, so that’s an easy leap for me. I’m a firm believer in making food.

I also enjoy baking bread, which is probably why Leonard has gained 20 lbs that he can’t seem to lose.

To make this pie, I cited other recipes which are all excellent:
My modifications: 
Because this wasn’t planned in any way, I didn’t have enough chocolate chunks on hand. I also don’t like making things with a lot of sugar, so I wanted to incorporate over ripe bananas. Luckily, bananas and chocolate go well together. We were also bequeathed a lot of jars of peaches, which I want to work through eventually. 
Variations I want to try:
Vanilla coconut pudding
Substituting coconut creme for the milk
Using better chocolate
Figuring out a vegan version of the crust
Using pectin in the filling to allow for the addition of whole fruit. 
If you try any of those things, let me know how it works out! Any recipe is a living document. 
Compensation Pi
Preheat oven to 350F
The Crust:
2 cups almond meal
4 tbsp melted butter
2 tbsp blackstrap molasses (if you don’t like molasses, you can substitute any sweetener to make up the flavor you like)
Melt the butter, preferably in the pie plan. Mix in the almond meal, butter and molasses. By hand, pat the crust into shape. Bake the crust for 10 minutes to allow it to set and get slightly crispy. 
The Filling (modification of the Kitchn.com recipe):
1 14-ounce can of coconut milk, divided
1/4 cup sugar (or sweetener substitute of your choice. This is for the cocoa powder)
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 heaping tablespoons cornstarch
5 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 oz chocolate, of your choice. Dark is best.
1 teaspoons vanilla extract 
2 thoroughly pulverized over ripe banana
  1. Shake the can of coconut milk as it can settle. In a medium-sized saucepan, bring half the can of coconut milk, sugar, vanilla and salt to a simmer over low heat. Don’t allow it to boil fully.
  2. In a separate small bowl, whisk together the remaining coconut milk, cornstarch, and cocoa powder. This will take a couple of minutes. 
  3. Slowly add the cornstarch mixture to the hot pan of coconut milk, whisking vigorously. Keep whisking on low heat until the pudding almost reaches a simmer once again and begins to thicken, about 2 minutes.
  4. Add in the pulverized bananas. At this point I used my immersion blender because it was still a little chunky.
  5. Remove the saucepan from heat. Whisk in the chocolate chunks. Keep stirring until the chocolate melts into the pudding and the mixture is smooth and silky.
  6. Allow the pudding to cool somewhat. Keep a piece of plastic pressed onto the pudding so it doesn’t form a skin.
  7. Bake for 20 mins at 325. Watch out for over cooking- check it at 15 minutes to make sure the crust or the pudding isn’t burning. 
  8. Once the pie is cool enough to put in the fridge, cover with plastic and refrigerate it. 

This is excellent with a whipped cream topping. Coconut whipped cream can work as well!

